Connect With Us:
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
News & Press: KRHA News

2016 State Election News

Friday, November 11, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lisa Graham
Share |


Kansas Legislature

The largest story coming out of Tuesday’s state elections was the inability of the Democrats to gain a seat in any of the contested Senate races across the state.  Republicans now hold a 31-9 (was 32-8) majority in the Senate, with approximately 19 conservatives and 12 moderates.  The one Democratic gain was Lynn Rogers who ran in an open seat in Wichita.


The Democrats were able to make significant gains in the House where they picked up 12 additional seats.  The Republicans continue to hold an 85-40 (was 97-28) majority with an estimated 57 conservatives and 28 moderates. Below are the contested seats that changed parties:


  •  District 25: Sen. Michael O’Donnell (R-Wichita) retired his seat to run for Sedgwick County Commission. Democrat Lynn Rogers defeated Republican Jim Price, 58% to 42%. O’Donnell served one term.
  • House District 3: Rep. Charles Smith (R-Pittsburg) was defeated by Democrat Monica Murnan, 53% to 47%. Smith served one term.

  •  District 16: Rep. Amanda Grosserode (R-Lenexa) was defeated by Democrat Cindy Holscher, 58% to 42%. Grosserode served three terms.

  •  District 18: Rep. John Rubin (R-Shawnee) did not seek re-election. Democrat Cindy Neighbor defeated Republican Eric Jenkins, 54% to 46%. Rubin served three terms.

  •  District 21: Rep. Barbara Bollier (R-Mission Hills) vacated her seat to run for the Senate. Democrat Jerry Stogsdill defeated Republican Dorothy Hughes, 57% to 43%. Bollier served three and a half terms.

  •  District 27: Rep. Marc Rhoades (R-Newton) defeated by Democrat Tim Hodge, 51% to 49%. Rhoades served five terms and was a former Appropriations Chair.

  •  District 29: Rep. James Todd (R-Overland Park) defeated by Democrat Brett Parker, 54% to 46%. Todd served two terms.

  •  District 40: Rep. John Bradford (R-Lansing) defeated by Democrat Debbie Deer, 52% to 48%. Bradford served two terms.

  •  District 41: Rep. Tony Barton (R-Leavenworth) defeated by Democrat Jeff Pittman, 55% to 45%. Barton served one term.

  •  District 56: Rep. Lane Hemsley (R-Topeka) defeated by Democrat Virgil Weigel, 52% to 48%. Weigel is a former legislator who lost to Hemsley in 2014. Lane served one term.

  •  District 88: Rep. Joseph Scapa (R-Wichita) defeated by Democrat Elizabeth Bishop, 56% to 44%. Scapa served two non-consecutive terms.

  •  District 98: Rep. Steve Anthimides (R-Wichita) defeated by Democrat Steven Crum, 53% to 47%. Anthimides served two terms.

  •  District 102: Rep. Jan Pauls (R-Hutchinson) defeated by Democrat Patsy Terrell, 56% to 44%. Pauls served 11 terms, 10 of them as a Democrat.

  •  District 111: Rep. Sue Boldra (R-Hays) defeated by Democrat Eber Phelps, 53% to 47%. Phelps is a former representative. Boldra served two terms.

    NRA Election Report


more Latest News
more Calendar

ServSafe Manager - Wichita: July 11

ServSafe Manager - Manhattan: July 12

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal