Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
News & Press: KRHA News

Hospitality Night Out & Stars of the Industry Awards

Monday, October 28, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lisa Graham
Share |

WICHITA, Kan. – On Oct. 14 2019 at the Kansas Star Casino in Mulvane, Kan., The Kansas

Restaurant and Hospitality Association (KRHA) hosted industry professionals at the annual Hospitality Night Out celebration and fundraiser. 


Hospitality Night Out is a fundraiser for the KRHA Educational Foundation. Founded in 1995, the mission of the KRHA Educational Foundation is committed to educate and grow a qualified workforce, and enrich our current industry.  From helping high school students get started on a restaurant career, to industry training and development. The workforce is our purpose and our passion.


Attendees enjoyed an evening of food, micro-brewery tastings, a silent auction, and

entertainment by stand-up comedian Shaun Jones.


The Stars of the Industry Awards consisted of nine categories to honor those in the hospitality industry who work to provide high quality food and hospitality services in the state of Kansas. Each category accepted nominees and was voted on leading up to the event.


Categories and Winners

-        Hall of Fame – Loren Unruh, Hotelier and Restaurateur

-        Restaurateur of the Year – Kevin Timmons, Nick and Jake’s

-        Hotelier of the Year – Bill Cunningham, Best Western Country Inn and Suites, Best Western           North Edge Inn

-        Allied Member of the Year - Seth Konkel – Epic Event Rentals

-        Hot New Concept – Chicken N Pickle, Wichita and Kansas City

-        Chef of the Year – Adriann Prud Homme, Bella Vita Bistro

-        Heart of the Industry – Ashley Childs, Freddy’s Wichita

-        Prostart Mentor of the Year – Les Padzensky, Warren Theatres

-        Prostart Teacher of the year – Jack Low, Eudora High School

-        Kansas Craft Brewer of the Year - Jeremy Horn, Wichita Brewing Company - Presented by             the Kansas Craft Brewers Guild



 Hall of Fame  Restaurateur of the Year   Hotelier of the Year  Allied Member of the Year      
 Hot New Concept   Chef of the Year  Heart of the Industry  ProStart Mentor of the Year     
ProStart Teacher of the Year  Kansas Craft Brewer of the Year