Connect With Us:
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
News & Press: KRHA News

Announcing the 2018 Stars of the Industry

Thursday, October 11, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |


The Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association (KRHA) announces the nominees for the 2018 Stars of the Industry awards.  These awards honor individuals for their commitment to the industry and contributions to their communities.  


KRHA membership is required for the following awards: Hall of Fame, Restaurateur, Hotelier, Allied Partner, Heart of the Industry, Mentor & ProStart Teacher. Nominees for Chef of the Year and Hot New Concept do not have to be members of KRHA.  This year marks the second year that KRHA has partnered with the Kansas Craft Brewers Guild (KCBG) to recognize a top brewer in Kansas.  KCBG selects the nominees and award winner for this category.  Craft beer is a big part of the hospitality industry and we are thrilled to partner with KCBG to recognize one of the many amazing brewers in Kansas. 


Award winners will be announced at our Hospitality Night Out celebration and fundraiser, that recognizes the people who understand that true hospitality means serving others. This year’s event will be held Oct. 22 from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m., at the Kansas Star Casino in Mulvane, Kan.


Join us to celebrate the many individuals who make the hospitality industry great!  Tickets can be purchased at


KRHA Hall of Fame Nominees

Larry ConoverTown & Country Restaurant - Wichita

Tom & Marilyn DobskiMcDonald's - Atchison, Lawrence, Leavenworth, & Topeka


 Restaurateur of the Year Nominees

Chris ArnoldRiver City Brewery - Wichita

John Dwire & Dave Rowden, Whiskey Dicks - Wichita

Katrina Marshall, LongHorn Steakhouse - Manhattan

Robert LittleShindigs Bar & Grill - Winfield


 Hotelier of the Year Nominees

Bill CunninghamKimbroy's Properties, LLC - Dodge City

Michelle Stein, Wichita Marriott - Wichita


 Allied Partner of the Year Nominees


Mize Restaurant Group


 Chef of the Year Nominees

This annual award will recognize a chef who has set new or consistent standards of excellence in the Kansas food scene. Eligible candidates should demonstrate high culinary skills, be an inspiration to other culinary professionals, and make a positive impact on the industry and their community.  (Award nominees for Chef of the Year do not have to be members of KRHA.)

Adam VanDonge, The White Linen Restaurant - Topeka

Ben George, SAVOR - Wichita

Chris Cochran, Sysco Kansas City - Wichita

Kayson Chong, 6S Steakhouse - Wichita


 Hot New Concept Nominees

This annual award will recognize a restaurant concept that is a forward-thinking brand at the leading edge of foodservice and positioned for growth.  Winners can be independent or franchise, but new to Kansas within the last 3 years.  (Award recipients do not have to be a member of KRHA.)  

Chick N Max - Wichita

Dempsey's Biscuit Company - Wichita

Headshots Bar & Grill - Wichita

Piatto Neapolitan Pizzeria - Wichita

Sierra Grill - Lenexa

The Pennant - Topeka

The Sweet Spot - Wichita


 Craft Brewer of the Year

This award is presented by the Kansas Craft Brewers Guild.  

John Dean, Blind Tiger Brewery - Topeka


 Mentor of the Year Nominees

John Arnold, Lauren Irwin, & Erin Edwards, A & M Management - Wichita

Mary Montgomery-Shatz, LongHorn Steakhouse - Manhattan, Overland Park, Wichita


 Heart of the Industry Nominees

Eugene Isaac IV, LongHorn Steakhouse - Manhattan

Jose Ramirez, Nick & Jake's - Overland Park

Robin Monroe, Doo-Dah Diner - Wichita


 ProStart Teacher of the Year Award Recipient

Alison Draut, Wichita Northwest High School - Wichita





more Calendar

ServSafe Manager - Lenexa: July 16

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal